The NCE6008AS and NCE6012AS are the 8A and 12A entries of the same NCE 60V SOP-8 line — same package, same pinout (pins 1-3 Source, 4 Gate, 5-8 Drain), different die. The real decision isn't the current: it's gate drive, switching frequency, and gate-charge budget.
Choose the NCE6012AS when you have a 4.5V-capable gate rail and conduction loss matters; choose the NCE6008AS when the drive is 10V and the frequency is high enough that 50nC vs 93nC decides the switching budget.
| Parameter | NCE6008AS | NCE6012AS |
|---|---|---|
| Drain-Source Voltage (VDS) | 60V | 60V |
| Continuous Drain Current (ID) | 8A (5.6A @ 100°C) | 12A (8.5A @ 100°C) |
| Pulsed Drain Current (IDM) | 32A | 30A |
| RDS(on) max @ 10V | 20mΩ | 11mΩ |
| RDS(on) max @ 4.5V | — (not specified) | 12mΩ (ID = 6A) |
| RDS(on) typ @ 10V | 14.5mΩ | 8.5mΩ |
| Gate Threshold VGS(th) | 1.4-2.5V (typ 1.9V) | 0.9-1.8V (typ 1.3V) |
| Total Gate Charge (Qg) | 50nC | 93nC |
| Input Capacitance (Ciss) | 2050pF | 4100pF |
| Max Power Dissipation (PD) | 2.1W | 3W |
| Thermal Resistance RθJA | 60°C/W | 42°C/W |
| Body Diode trr | 28ns | 32ns |
| Body Diode VSD | 1.2V max | 1.2V max |
| Package / Pinout | SOP-8, 1-3 S / 4 G / 5-8 D | SOP-8, 1-3 S / 4 G / 5-8 D |
| Datasheet | NCE6008AS v1.0 | NCE6012AS v1.0 |
The one-line summary: same class, same pinout, two different design philosophies — the 6008AS is a lean 10V-driven switch, the 6012AS is the logic-level workhorse with half the RDS(on) and twice the gate charge.
The 6012AS guarantees RDS(on) at 4.5V (12mΩ max), the 6008AS does not specify below 10V at all. That's the difference between a logic-level part and a 10V-only part — per the forum consensus, the RDS(on) test condition is the definition of logic-level, not the threshold voltage.
But why does that row matter more than the threshold? Because the threshold only tells you when the part starts turning on; the RDS(on) guarantee tells you what you actually get at your drive voltage.
With a 3.3V MCU, neither part is a direct-drive candidate; the 6012AS works through a level shifter at 5V, the 6008AS needs a real 10V rail.
At 10A, the 6008AS burns 2.0W; the 6012AS burns 1.1W — nearly half. At the 6008AS's 8A rating, the 6012AS still carries the load at lower loss.
If the board runs hot and the drive rail exists, the 6012AS wins the conduction side outright.
50nC vs 93nC. The smaller 8A part is the better high-frequency switch. Every cycle moves the gate charge through the driver; at 100kHz the 6012AS needs roughly twice the gate-drive energy.
Why does the smaller part switch faster? Because switching loss is about charge, not current — a leaner die moves less charge per edge. Hard-switching above ~80-100kHz favors the 6008AS despite its higher RDS(on).
42°C/W vs 60°C/W. The 6012AS's larger die spreads heat better, so the same current on the same copper runs cooler. But which die heats the copper in the first place? The 6012AS's lower RDS(on) produces less heat to spread.
The 6008AS hits its 2.1W envelope sooner; the 6012AS's 3W headroom matters for pulsed loads near the rating.
Three-question decision: drive voltage first (the 4.5V guarantee is the biggest difference), then frequency (50nC vs 93nC decides the switching budget), then conduction loss (11mΩ vs 20mΩ at the same current).
RDS(on) max @ 10V — conduction loss at the same current:
Total gate charge — switching-loss budget per cycle:
Thermal resistance RθJA — cooler die at the same power:
The trade triangle: the 6012AS wins conduction and thermal, the 6008AS wins gate charge and cost. Drive voltage decides which side of the triangle you can stand on.
A: Pinout-wise yes, electrically no. Both are SOP-8 with pins 1-3 Source, 4 Gate, 5-8 Drain — drop-in compatible. But the drive changes: if your board drives at 4.5V, the 6008AS is outside its spec window; if it drives at 10V, both work. Check the gate rail before the swap.
A: The NCE6012AS, if you have 5V logic. The 4.5V guarantee (12mΩ max) matches BMS boards that drive from 5V rails, and the 11mΩ halves conduction loss at pack currents. The 6008AS works too — but only with a 10V rail, which BMS boards rarely have.
A: Because switching loss is about gate charge, not current. 50nC vs 93nC means the 6008AS moves roughly half the charge per cycle. At 100kHz+ hard switching, that difference dominates the 20mΩ vs 11mΩ conduction gap. Smaller die, faster edges, less gate loss.
A: 8A vs 12A at 25°C, derating to 5.6A and 8.5A at 100°C. With realistic board copper, the honest sustained envelopes are ~5-8A for the 6008AS and ~8-12A for the 6012AS depending on ambient. Neither part carries its headline rating on a skimpy pour.
A: No — the test point differs. For the 6012AS, measure RDS(on) at 4.5V and 10V (a remarked die fails the 4.5V row). For the 6008AS, the 10V check at 20mΩ max is the only guaranteed point. Both should read within spec at 10V.
A: No — the gate charge decides. For high-frequency, gate-charge-constrained, or 10V-driven designs, the 6008AS is the right part. The 6012AS wins wherever conduction loss and logic-level drive dominate. Same package, same pinout, two different design targets.
A: Virtually a tie. The 6008AS rates 32A pulsed, the 6012AS 30A — the smaller die holds a slight edge on pulse rating, the bigger die on thermal recovery. Neither publishes a numeric avalanche energy; both are "fully characterized" per datasheet.
A: Not recommended. Parallel parts should share the same RDS(on) temperature profile — the 20mΩ and 11mΩ dies share current unevenly and heat differently. Parallel like-for-like (two 6012AS or two 6008AS) on shared copper.





