The NCE1505S, NCE1540KA, and NCE1540K are the three faces of NCE's 150V trench line — a 5.2A SOP-8 entry die and two 40A TO-252 power dies. All three share the 150V class; that is where the similarity ends.
The real decision isn't the voltage. It's your current, your gate world, and whether the design ever commutates or avalanches.
From what we see across Shenzhen lots (2025–2026), the line gets mis-selected two ways.
First: the SOP-8 entry die gets trusted with currents its 3.5W envelope can't carry. Second: the two TO-252 dies get treated as interchangeable — they are not: one lives in the 10V world, the other in the 3.3V world with a ±12V gate ceiling.
One-line guide: ≤5A entry duty → 1505S; 3.3V/5V-controlled 40A power → 1540KA (mind the gate design); 10V/12V-driven 40A power → 1540K.
| Parameter | NCE1505S | NCE1540KA | NCE1540K |
|---|---|---|---|
| Package | SOP-8 (150 mil) | TO-252-2L (DPAK) | TO-252 (DPAK) |
| Drain-Source Voltage | 150V | 150V | 150V (BV typ 170V) |
| Continuous Drain Current | 5.2A (3.7A @ 100°C) | 40A (29A @ 100°C) | 40A (29A @ 100°C) |
| Pulsed Drain Current | 42A | 160A | 164A |
| RDS(on) max @ 10V | 44mΩ @ 5.2A | 45mΩ @ 18A | 45mΩ @ 18A |
| RDS(on) @ lower gates | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Gate Threshold VGS(th) | 2.5-4.5V (typ 3.2V) | 0.7-1.4V (typ 1.05V) | 2.5-4.5V (typ 3.2V) |
| Gate-Source Voltage (max) | ±20V | ±12V | ±20V |
| Max Power Dissipation | 3.5W | 140W (case) | 140W (case) |
| Thermal Resistance | 35.7°C/W (RθJA) | 1.07°C/W (RθJC) | 1.07°C/W (RθJC) |
| Total Gate Charge | 35.8nC @ 10V | 63.8nC @ 4.5V basis | 105nC @ 10V |
| Reverse Transfer Cap. (Crss) | 90pF @ 25V | 111pF @ 75V | 96pF @ 25V |
| Body Diode Recovery | 50ns / 140nC (IF 3.1A) | 42ns / 75nC (IF 18A) | 70ns / 230nC (IF 18A) |
| Single-Pulse EAS | — (not published) | 350mJ (conditions) | 310mJ (conditions) |
| UIS / ΔVds testing | — | 100% tested | 100% tested |
| Datasheet | v1.0 | v2.0 | v1.2 |
Read the test bases before comparing: Qg is measured at different gate voltages (10V vs 4.5V), Crss at different drain voltages (25V vs 75V), and recovery at different currents (3.1A vs 18A). The table keeps each row on its datasheet basis — cross-column arithmetic on these rows is not valid.
The one-line summary: one voltage class, three design stops — the SOP-8 entry buys modest-current switching with the lightest gate; the two TO-252 dies buy real 40A power and are separated by their gate worlds, not their current ratings.
The entry die's 3.5W envelope at 35.7°C/W is an ambient rating; the power dies' 140W at 1.07°C/W is a case rating — the TO-252 tab on copper is the difference between 3.5W and 140W of capability.
Both numbers are honest. The entry die serves 48V-class rails at modest current; the power dies exist because 40A through an SOP-8 is physics fiction.
Buy by the current your load really draws — the package choice follows the heat, not the other way around.
1540K and 1540KA share 150V, 40A, and a 45mΩ row — and then diverge completely on the gate. The K runs a 2.5-4.5V threshold with a ±20V rating; the KA runs a 0.7-1.4V threshold with a ±12V ceiling.
The KA is the only die 3.3V logic can actually turn on — and the only one a 12V gate rail cannot safely drive. The K shrugs off Miller spikes that the KA's 1.05V threshold turns into shoot-through risk on a 150V rail.
Here's the part that surprises buyers: neither power die publishes RDS(on) below 10V. The KA's low threshold means "it conducts from 3.3V" — not "its resistance is guaranteed at 3.3V."
The avalanche ladder splits the line: the entry die publishes no EAS; the power dies publish 310mJ and 350mJ with full test conditions and 100% UIS testing.
Recovery shows the tuning: at the same 18A test current, the KA recovers in 42ns with 75nC against the K's 70ns and 230nC. The KA is the commutation die; the K is the switch die with a slower, heavier body diode.
If your design synchronously rectifies or commutates hard, the KA's numbers are the ones to design with — or put the recovery in an external diode.
Three-question decision: current first, then the gate world (which die 3.3V can turn on and 12V can safely drive), then commutation — where the KA's faster diode earns its keep.
Power dissipation envelope — SOP-8 ambient vs TO-252 case ratings:
The 40× envelope gap is the package difference, not the silicon difference — the tab on copper is the entire story.
Body-diode recovery, K vs KA at the same 18A test current:
Same current class, different commutation character — the KA is the die for recovery-sensitive duty. (The entry die's 50ns/140nC is measured at 3.1A and is not on this scale.)
A: Current, package, gate world, and die tuning. The 1505S is a 5.2A SOP-8 entry die with no avalanche number; the 1540K and 1540KA are 40A TO-252 dies that share 45mΩ but split on the gate: 2.5-4.5V threshold with ±20V (K) versus 0.7-1.4V with ±12V (KA), plus faster recovery and higher avalanche on the KA.
A: Under about 3A continuous on 48V-class rails, with a 10V gate rail and a clamped drain. The 3.5W envelope and the missing EAS row set the honest limits — modest current, proper drive, protected rail.
A: Your gate rail decides it, not the current. Control side is 3.3V/5V or the design commutates hard? The KA (mind the ±12V ceiling and negative off-bias). Driver rail is 12V, or fast dV/dt is a risk? The K — its ±20V rating and 3.2V threshold are the margin you need.
A: Not with any margin. Its VGS max is ±12V — a 12V rail sits at the absolute limit, so any transient on the gate is over-rating. The K's ±20V rating makes it the 12V-rail part of the family.
A: Trust that it turns on — measure the resistance. The 0.7-1.4V threshold guarantees conduction from 3.3V; the datasheet only guarantees RDS(on) at 10V. Sample-test your actual drive voltage before production.
A: The two TO-252 dies — 310mJ (K) and 350mJ (KA), both with full test conditions and 100% UIS testing. The SOP-8 entry die publishes none: its feature list claims characterization, but there is no numeric row. Clamp the rail for entry-die designs.
A: The KA, if the recovery must be in the MOSFET. trr 42ns / Qrr 75nC at 18A is the line's fastest. The K's 70ns/230nC suits switching duty; for very aggressive SR, an external diode may still beat either die.
A: When 100V covers the stress. A PoE input protection switch blocks 57V directly — 100V parts fit with margin. The 150V class earns its gate charge on flyback primaries where the drain swings to ~114V. Match the class to the stress, not the fashion.





